This image is the cover for the book Salterton Trilogy Omnibus, Salterton Trilogy

Salterton Trilogy Omnibus, Salterton Trilogy

Available in one volume, all three books of the award-winning Salterton Trilogy: Tempest-Tost, Leaven of Malice, and A Mixture of Frailties.

Visit the quaint town of Salterton, Ontario, and the enigmatic lives of those who inhabit it . . .

Tempest-Tost. An amateur production of The Tempest provides a colorful backdrop for a hilarious look at unrequited love. Mathematics teacher Hector Mackilwraith, stirred and troubled by Shakespeare’s play, falls in love with the beautiful heiress Griselda Webster. When Griselda shows she has plans of her own, Hector despairs on the play’s opening night.

Leaven of Malice. Winner of the Leacock Medal, awarded for the best in Canadian literary humor. A malicious false engagement notice between locals Solly Bridgetower and Pearl Vambrace leads to permanent changes, for good or ill, in the lives of many citizens of Salterton.

A Mixture of Frailties. Louisa Bridgetower, the imposing Salterton matron, has died. The substantial income from her estate is to be used to send an unmarried young woman to Europe to pursue an education in the arts. Monica Gall, an almost entirely unschooled singer soon finds herself in England, as she gradually blossoms from a Canadian rube to a cosmopolitan soprano with a unique—and tragicomic—career.

Praise for the Salterton Trilogy

“Full of zest, wit and urbanity.”—The New York Times

“High comedy with a spice of satire to give it savor.”—Montreal Gazette

“An exercise in puckish persiflage.”—Toronto Star

“Hilarious, satirical, witty and clever.”—Edmonton Journal

Robertson Davies

Robertson Davies (1913–1995) was born and raised in Ontario, and was educated at a variety of schools, including Upper Canada College, Queen’s University, and Balliol College, Oxford. He had three successive careers: as an actor with the Old Vic Company in England; as publisher of the Peterborough Examiner; and as university professor and first Master of Massey College at the University of Toronto, from which he retired in 1981 with the title of Master Emeritus. He was one of Canada’s most distinguished men of letters, with several volumes of plays and collections of essays, speeches, and belles lettres to his credit. As a novelist, he gained worldwide fame for his three trilogies: The Salterton Trilogy, The Deptford Trilogy, and The Cornish Trilogy, and for later novels Murther and Walking Spirits and The Cunning Man. His career was marked by many honors: He was the first Canadian to be made an Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, he was a Companion of the Order of Canada, and he received honorary degrees from twenty-six American, Canadian, and British universities.