This image is the cover for the book Mountain of Gold, The Matthew Quinton Journals

Mountain of Gold, The Matthew Quinton Journals

“Swashbuckling suspense, royal intrigue, and high seas naval action” abound in this saga of a Royal Navy captain’s search for treasure in Africa (Publishers Weekly).

1663: Captain Matthew Quinton is thrilled to capture a corsair from under the nose of menacing Maltese Knight Montnoir. But his triumph is short lived. The “pirate” is in fact the infamous Irish adventurer O’Dwyer, who comes with talk of a vast West African gold mine . . .

Ordered by the avaricious King Charles to accompany O’Dwyer to Africa and unearth the gold, Quinton sets sail for the Gambia.

Dogged by misfortune, with sabotage and murder darkening the mission, Quinton discovers Montnoir is on his trail. The race for gold will put everything at risk . . . Can Quinton emerge in one piece?

The Mountain of Gold is the second novel in the thrilling Matthew Quinton Journals naval adventure series.

Praise for the writing of J.D. Davies:

“Hornblower, Aubrey and Quinton—a pantheon of the best adventures at sea!” —Conn Iggulden, #1 New York Times–bestselling author of The Conqueror and War of the Roses series

“A hero worth rooting for.” —Publishers Weekly

“Utterly impossible to put down . . . Finely-shaded characters, excellent plotting, gut-clenching action and immaculate attention to period detail . . . Superb.” —Angus Donald, author of The Outlaw Chronicles series

“Destined to be a classic of nautical adventure series.” —Eric Jay Dolin, author of Leviathan and Fur, Fortune, and Empire

“A naval adventure that goes well beyond the usual outlines of the genre to paint a lively portrait of England in the 1600s.” —Kirkus Reviews

J. D. Davies

J. D. Davies is the prolific author of historical naval adventures. He is also one of the foremost authorities on the seventeenth-century navy, which brings a high level of historical detail to his fiction, namely his Matthew Quinton series. He has written widely on the subject, most recently Kings of the Sea: Charles II, James II and the Royal Navy, and won the Samuel Pepys Award in 2009 with Pepys’s Navy: Ships, Men and Warfare, 1649-1689.

Canelo Books