This image is the cover for the book Prussian Officer

Prussian Officer

Twelve short stories from the author of such classics as Sons and Lovers and Lady Chatterly’s Lover.

D. H. Lawrence’s first collection of short stories, The Prussian Officer and Other Stories, was published in England in 1914, and contains some of his best works, chronicling accounts of the time and place—from old mining communities to pre–First World War Germany. This definitive edition of these writings presents Lawrence’s stories as he intended them. They have been cleaned of corruptions and errors, as well as providing a history of each story and of the whole collection.

D.H. Lawrence

Born in England on September 11, 1885, D. H. Lawrence is regarded as one of the most influential writers of the twentieth century. Lawrence published many novels and poetry volumes during his lifetime, including Sons and Lovers and Women in Love, but is best known for his infamous novel Lady Chatterley’s Lover. The graphic and highly sexual novel was published in Italy in 1928, but was banned in the United States until 1959, and banned in England until 1960. Garnering fame for his novels and short stories early into his career—especially his collections The Fox, The Captain’s Doll, and The Ladybird and The Prussian Officer and Other Stories—Lawrence later received acclaim for his personal letters and poetry, in which he detailed a range of emotions, from exhilaration to depression to prophetic brooding. He died in France in 1930.